Home India New National Education Policy 2020: Breakdown of 10+2

New National Education Policy 2020: Breakdown of 10+2

New National Education Policy 2020

The new National Education Policy 2020 suggests scrapping the existing 10+2 system to replace with 5+3+3+4 system.

The new policy aims for transforming circular and pedagogical structure from the existing 10 + 2 years to a more inclusive foundational to secondary stage transition.

While the terms of year a chld spends within the formal education would not change at school level, the new structure brings into fold the already existing play schools withing formal education

NEP 2020: New Pedagogical Structure

Today, a student enters formal education at the age of 3 by means of play schools. Then he moves to a school which is a K12 institution – Kindergarten 1 and 2 and 12 years of secondary then higher secondary education.

The new structure proposes dividing the same educational structure into cognitive developmental stages of the child – early childhood, school years, and secondary stage.

1) Foundational Stage

For ages 3 to eight years, the foundational stage has been suggested. The multi-level play activity based learning would come with 3 years at anganwadi’s, pre-school or as commonly called play schools and therefore the kindergarten classes catering to ages 3 to six . To this, the grades 1 and a couple of or classes 1 and a couple of for college kids of ages 6 to eight would even be added, keeping the main target on development of language skills and teaching by play based and activity based curriculum.

2) Preparatory Stage

This is for ages 8 to 11 or classes 3 to five . the main target would shift to play, discovery and activity based and interaction classroom learning. the main target till this stage would remain on development of language and numeracy skills, in accordance with the cognitive development of a toddler . Medium of instruction till Grade 5 would be home language or maternal language or local language. Three languages would be taught to all or any students – and states would decide which of them .

3) Middle Stage

Referring to the classes 6 to eight , the new structure aims at transforming the pedagogy from the prevailing system to a more experiential learning within the sciences, mathematics, arts, social sciences and humanities. Focus would get on critical learning objectives and not on rote .

4) Secondary Stage

This includes classes 9 to 12 or the secondary and therefore the higher secondary as we all know them today. The changes suggested at this stage include a multidisciplinary study where students would be ready to pick and choose any set of subjects from the available structure. the main target would get on greater critical thinking and adaptability , allowing the kid to select subjects as per their interests – even technical and humanities .